Tag: New Letters

  • Magazine Stand :: New Letters – Winter/Spring 2022

    New Letters literary magazine winter spring 2022 issue cover image

    In the Editor’s Note to this double issue (VOL. 88 NOs. 1&2) of New Letters, Christie Hodgen explores a passage from Chekhov’s “The Lady with the Dog” and concludes, “As writers, we are able to put words to what is hidden; as readers, we experience the often humbling privilege of gaining access to others’ hidden lives – a privilege we almost never experience in the real world.” In this issue, readers have the privilege to enjoy the New Letters Award Series of winning works by R.J. Lambert, Patricia Cleary Miller Award for Poetry; Rachel Coonce, Conger Beasley Jr. Award for Nonfiction; Richard Hermes, Robert Day Award for Fiction; Erin McReynolds, Editor’s Choice Award; and Jesse Lee Kercheval, Editor’s Choice Award. In addition, the issue features fiction by Nicole Hazan, Bradley Bazzle, Andrew Peters, Essay, Jillian Barnet, Chelsea B. DesAutels, P.L. Watts; poetry by Christopher Howell, Gaskin, Alicia Ostriker, Wyatt Townley, Maurya Simon, Jeremy Pulmano, John Blair, Vanesha Pravin; reviews and commentaries by Daniel A Rabuzzi, David Newkirk, Natalie Johansen, Robert Stewart; and a full-color portfolio of painting and collages by Harold Smith, whose work is featured on the cover.

  • Contest :: New Letters Literary Awards 2022

    2022 New Letters Literary Awards banner

    Literary magazine New Letters is currently accepting submissions to their 2022 Literary Awards. Winners in each genre receive $2,500 and publication in New Letters. For more information about their current contest, stop by the NewPages Classifieds.

  • New Letters – Fall 2021

    New writing by Tamas Dobozy, Marcie Alexander, B.H. Fairchild, Jennifer Perrine, Heather Sellers, and Eliza Tudor. Fiction by Shubha Sunder, Andrew Porter, David Ryan, Marcie Alexander, and Maureen Aitken. Essays by Amy Day Wilkinson and Emily Ruehs-Navarro. See poetry contributors at the New Letters website.

  • Contest :: New Letters Editor’s Choice Award—$1,000 + Publication

    New Letters 2021 Editor's Choice Award bannerDeadline: October 18, 2021
    New Letters invites you to submit work that experiments and that crosses the traditional boundaries of genre and form to our Editor’s Choice Award. Enter your hybrid work—your lyric essays, prose poems, short-shorts, collages, micro-memoirs . . . whatever you’re doing that’s experimental, we want to see it. The winner will receive $1,000 plus publication in an issue of New Letters. www.newletters.org/editors-choice-award/

  • New Letters Award Winners

    woman looking at a poster for a ballet performanceIn the Winter/Spring 2021 issue of New Letters, there is a whole section dedicated to award winners.

    Editor’s Choice Award
    “Indigent” by Elizabeth Robinson

    Patricia Cleary Miller Award for Poetry
    “Late Song: Time” and “The Art of the Deal” by Mark Wagenaar

    Robert Day Award for Fiction
    “Lobu Hoteru” by Jacob R. Weber

    Conger Beasley Jr. Award for Nonfiction
    “Joan” by Rebecca Young

    Visit New Letters‘ website to grab a copy of this issue and learn about each of these contests.

  • New Letters Volume 87 Numbers 1 & 2

    woman looking at a poster for a ballet performanceLiterary magazine New Letters publishes two double issues a year in print. Their Winter/Spring 2021 issue is now available for purchase and features fiction by Blair Hurley, Robert P. Kaye, Kirstin Scott, Anthony Varallo, and Leslie Blanco; essays by Carolina Avarado Molk, Emily Howorth, and Michaela Django Walsh; and poetry by Rebecca Foust, Jennifer Perrine, D.S. Waldman, Ted Kooser, Mihaela Moscaliuc, and Liane Strauss.

    Also in this issue find the winners of their annual literary awards!

    • “Indigent” by Elizabeth Robinson, winner of the Editor’s Choice Award
    • Two poems by Mark Wagenaar, winner of the Patricia Clearly Miller Award for Poetry
    • “Lobu Hoteru” by Jacob R. Weber, winner of the Robert Day Award for Fiction
    • “Joan” by Rebecca Young, winner of the Beasley Jr. Award for Nonfiction

    Their current awards in fiction, poetry, and nonfiction are open to entries through midnight CST on May 18! Check out the 2020 winners and don’t forget to pick up this issue and support the journal by subscribing!

North Street Book Prize logo 2022
White background with Press written in blue and 53 written in orange and award for poetry in black